HomePortalFAQSearchMemberlistRegisterLog in

Share | 
 

 Opinions of the Gameplay

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Zed
Specialist


Posts : 35
Thanks : 3
Join date : 2009-11-19
Age : 44
Location : St. Louis, MO

PostSubject: Opinions of the Gameplay   Wed May 19, 2010 7:28 pm

Okay, my opinions are mixed so far. I played online in Free Roam and that was okay....primarily because I headed for gunshots and just started shooting people and taking their guns/horses/whatever. Twisted Evil I was also able to takeout a whole group of banditos in a fort by myself and killed several wild animals to earn XP. So I've got several guns, a couple horses, and even a change of clothes....which is kinda cool. cheers I was asked to join people's posse' to take on bigger challenges but declined for now.

In single player....I'm bored silly. I don't know who's good and who's bad until it's too late. The few time's I've ridden up on a problem...dogs attacking someone, bad guys attacking someone, etc....I get killed before I can even defend myself let alone save the people. My horse has been killed twice by dogs...and I haven't figured out how to get the indicator to point me in the right direction yet...so that's frustrating. Mad

It plays a lot like Fallout 3 except it's not as obvious. In Fallout...the bad guys are mutants...there's a meter clearly indicating your strength, immunity, etc....and when you pick a quest from the menu...a big arrow on the map indicates where to head.

And what's up with the treasure map? did you guys get this? its got a hill...two rocks...and a noose? WTF....how am I supposed to find those two rocks in an area the size of Texas? I'm spending most of my time riding all over the place looking for something to do (and of course those two rocks).

That said...maybe I should read the instruction book...ya think? scratch study

I'm getting better shooting from the horse....have to remember the dead aim thing...but I've ridden off a cliff a couple times trying to shoot sideways and losing control of the horse. I'm sure there's a trick to it but I haven't figured it out yet.

That's it so far....

Zed
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Wirp
Admin
avatar

Posts : 491
Thanks : 11
Join date : 2009-07-10
Age : 23
Location : Exiled to Siberia

PostSubject: Re: Opinions of the Gameplay   Thu May 20, 2010 12:55 pm

Zed wrote:
Okay, my opinions are mixed so far. I played online in Free Roam and that was okay....primarily because I headed for gunshots and just started shooting people and taking their guns/horses/whatever. Twisted Evil I was also able to takeout a whole group of banditos in a fort by myself and killed several wild animals to earn XP. So I've got several guns, a couple horses, and even a change of clothes....which is kinda cool. cheers I was asked to join people's posse' to take on bigger challenges but declined for now.
The public free roam is need of a major patch, with all the invisibility problems and what-not. Playing together as a clan in a private free roam was some of the best fun I've had with you guys... well, untill we pulled out the TNT and turned on eachother. XD

Quote :
In single player....I'm bored silly. I don't know who's good and who's bad until it's too late. The few time's I've ridden up on a problem...dogs attacking someone, bad guys attacking someone, etc....I get killed before I can even defend myself let alone save the people. My horse has been killed twice by dogs...and I haven't figured out how to get the indicator to point me in the right direction yet...so that's frustrating. Mad
First of all, never ride straight up to a "broken down" wagon or anything like that, 9 times out of 10 it'll be bandits ready to ambush you. In those cases, I usually spot the bandits and ride my horse behind them, and pick each one off until they are all gone.

Quote :
It plays a lot like Fallout 3 except it's not as obvious. In Fallout...the bad guys are mutants...there's a meter clearly indicating your strength, immunity, etc....and when you pick a quest from the menu...a big arrow on the map indicates where to head.
You must remember, this isn't Fallout, this is more realistic (in my opinion anyway) and that is why enemies are harder to identify and you do not have a solid health display. As you can see in a lot of the new games, health bars are becoming a thing of the past, and I'm fine with that. Navigation can be VERY easy, if you use Way Points. To use one, just open up your map, and pick one of your objectives (such as a bold letter marking a person you must meet.) Just press X on that objective and it will become your way point. As long as you stay on trails, your map will guide you all the way to your destination.


Quote :
And what's up with the treasure map? did you guys get this? its got a hill...two rocks...and a noose? WTF....how am I supposed to find those two rocks in an area the size of Texas? I'm spending most of my time riding all over the place looking for something to do (and of course those two rocks).
Yes, I got the treasure map, but as you already know, it's not a traditional treasure map, it's more of a clue. The game even tells you that this is just to test your knowledge of the land. I would advise against looking for the spot, instead, just play the game and eventually you'll come across it. Also, how the heck do you have nothing to do? There's billions of things to do!

Quote :
That said...maybe I should read the instruction book...ya think? scratch study
Eh, the game manual helps some more than others, I usually don't even touch them, unless they've got extra things like a list of the Perks like in the Fallout 3 manual.

Quote :
I'm getting better shooting from the horse....have to remember the dead aim thing...but I've ridden off a cliff a couple times trying to shoot sideways and losing control of the horse. I'm sure there's a trick to it but I haven't figured it out yet.
DEAD EYE, DEAD EYE, DEAD EYE! Your Dead Eye meter refills constantly, making it easy for you to go through the game Matrix-style. The Dead Eye makes combat so much easier, I don't know how you could even forget about it.


As for my opinion, I think it is one of the best games of all time, and is filled with endless hours of fun. This game prides its self on having a lot of things to do, so if you are one of those people that can't find anything to do, then you've to open your eyes!

The online is great (although needs a patch) and the campaign is brilliant. I don't think I'll be putting down this title anytime soon.

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Zed
Specialist


Posts : 35
Thanks : 3
Join date : 2009-11-19
Age : 44
Location : St. Louis, MO

PostSubject: Re: Opinions of the Gameplay   Thu May 20, 2010 2:43 pm

Okay, I figured out a couple more things last night. I now know how to control the "dead eye"...which does make it easier for taking on multiple bandits.

I didn't know the "Letters" on the map indicated someplace I'm "supposed" to go to...I thought they were just characters I'd come across so far. I tend to completely ignore the little tip boxes that pop up to tell you what's going on....I just don't see them...and when I do they disappear before I can read them. I think it's because I'm playing 10' away from a 65" plasma so I actually have to turn my head to see stuff along the edges of the screen.

Another problem is that I usually use the cut scenes as an opportunity to go to the bathroom...so maybe I shouldn't do that....I might be missing something important.

I haven't figured out when/if I'm supposed to use medicine, food, etc. In Fallout...the meter told me when I needed to sleep, eat, take medicine, etc.

My warhorse got killed last night by a mountain lion while I was off him trying to save a woman from wolves....that pissed me off. I purposely ended at that point and didn't save in hopes that he will still be there when I go back in.

I found the first treasure and collected the next map. Sold a bunch of stuff so I'm running around with like...$2000 or something like that. Don't know what to spend it on yet.....the gun shop isn't offering me any new weapons.

It's starting to grow on me...I wasn't too keen on Fallout at first either. It's not that there's nothing to do...more like I don't know what I'm supposed to do...and I feel like I'm roaming around directionless. I did take several steps forward last night after we went single player, and I now understand a little more about what I'm supposed to do. Like any game...its not much fun if you're not good at it and it takes time for me to get good at something. I'm not a natural gamer...so it takes me a little longer than some.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Tango
Sergeant Major
avatar

Posts : 199
Thanks : 0
Join date : 2009-07-17
Age : 23

PostSubject: Re: Opinions of the Gameplay   Thu May 20, 2010 8:12 pm

I already put it down by not getting it.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://mmosclan.darkbb.com/portal.htm
November
First Sergeant
avatar

Posts : 165
Thanks : 3
Join date : 2009-07-15
Age : 25
Location : Montreal , Quebec

PostSubject: Re: Opinions of the Gameplay   Wed May 26, 2010 4:03 am

Its true that if you are not used to the style of gameplay Rockstar offers , it can be disturbing on the beginning but when you do understand how the game works .. it goes smoothly and get incredibly fun .. and i adore this game because i can switch from single to multiplayer in a bunch of seconds so when im tired of grinding in free mode , i just move on to single player and make a couple quests before i go back to multi to play with some buddy .. its amazing and this game litterally offers endless hours of gameplay.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Wirp
Admin
avatar

Posts : 491
Thanks : 11
Join date : 2009-07-10
Age : 23
Location : Exiled to Siberia

PostSubject: Re: Opinions of the Gameplay   Wed May 26, 2010 8:01 am

Tango is just trying to mess with us or whatever the hell he's doing. He's had the game since the release, no need to explain anything to him.

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Opinions of the Gameplay   

Back to top Go down
 
Opinions of the Gameplay
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Epic BF3 gameplay...
» Plessy/Bracchidios Gameplay
» E312: Gears Of War judgment Gameplay Trailer
» Dead Island Riptide - New Gameplay - City Co-op Preview with Interview
» state of officiating: opinions

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
MMOS Clan Home :: The War Zone :: Red Dead-
Jump to: